Chili Recipe

Chili_3

 

Here in Kentucky it has been getting downright cold lately. This inspired my husband to cook a warm, hearty pot of chili (his first attempt ever). While I am not a huge chili fan, I was in no way going to thwart his attempt at cooking–I’ll take what I can get! And, I must say, it was delicious. I don’t really have a frame of reference for many chili recipes, but I know I will be happily eating this all week. He adapted this recipe from It’s Chili by George!!, and it has a little kick to it. (Full disclosure, I am a huge weenie when it comes to anything spicy. However, after I added some cheese, it definitely mellowed out.) If you love spicy stuff, this probably won’t even make you flinch.

This recipe would be absolutely perfect for watching football with the gang or tailgating. So get to cooking and warm up on those chilly days!

  • 2 pounds lean ground beef (92/8)
  • 2 cans (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes with green chilies
  • 1 (29 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1 (15 ounce) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 (15 ounce) can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1/4 cup chili powder
  1. Cook ground beef over medium-high heat in a large skillet until evenly brown. Drain, and crumble.
  2. In a large pot over high heat combine the ground beef with all the other ingredients. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low. Simmer for 1 1/2 hours. (Note: If using a slow cooker, brown meat in a skillet, set the slow cooker on low, add all ingredients, and cook for 8 to 10 hours.)

Leave a Reply

